WASHINGTON –  Today, Representative Lance Gooden (R-Texas) sent a letter urging President Biden to extend a formal invitation to the Honorable Tsai Ing-wen, President of Taiwan, to attend the annual Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) leaders' summit in San Francisco, California, the week of November 12th, 2023. This is the first time the APEC summit will be held in the continental United States since 1993.

The letter highlights Taiwan's significant economic, cultural, and technological contributions to the region and the need for fair and equal treatment of Taiwan in APEC member states. Taiwan has been a critical partner of the United States in the Asia-Pacific region and globally. Its thriving multi-party democracy, advanced economy, and commitment to democratic values and the rule of law make Taiwan a critical ally in areas such as trade, security, and cultural exchange.

"Excluding Taiwan's full participation in APEC at the behest of the Chinese Communist Party sends the wrong message and contradicts the U.S. commitment to supporting a free Taiwan and rejecting China's provocative One-China Policy." Said Rep. Gooden. "I urge President Biden to recognize Taiwan's significant contributions to regional and global stability and its critical role in the Asia-Pacific region. By extending a formal invitation to President Tsai Ing-wen, the United States can demonstrate its commitment to a strong partnership with Taiwan and its dedication to peace and stability in the region."

Full Signee List:
Lance Gooden (R-Texas)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Washington)
Burgess Owens (R-Utah)
Doug LaMalfa (R-California)  
Scott DesJarlais, M.D. (R-Tennessee)
Brian Babin (R-Texas)
George Santos (R-New York)   
Randy K. Weber (R-Texas)
Tom Tiffany (R-Wisconsin)
Pete Stauber (R-Minnesota)   
Ryan Zinke (R-Montana)
Lisa McClain (R-Michigan)
Nancy Mace (R-South Carolina)  
Andy Ogles (R-Tennessee)    
John Joyce (R-Tennessee)
Bill Johnson (R-Ohio)   
Jeff Van Drew (R-New Jersey)    
John Rose (R-Tennessee)
Gus M. Bilirakis (R-Florida)  
Tim Burchett (R-Tennessee)    
Pete Sessions (R-Texas) 

You can read the entire letter here.